What are the 8 parts of the cranium?

There are eight cranial bones, each with a unique shape:

  • Frontal bone. This is the flat bone that makes up your forehead.
  • Parietal bones. This a pair of flat bones located on either side of your head, behind the frontal bone.
  • Temporal bones.
  • Occipital bone.
  • Sphenoid bone.
  • Ethmoid bone.

Where is the posterior part of the head?

Posteriorly is the mastoid portion of the temporal bone. Projecting inferiorly from this region is a large prominence, the mastoid process, which serves as a muscle attachment site. The mastoid process can easily be felt on the side of the head just behind your earlobe.

What are the Superolateral parts of the skull?

Terms in this set (31)

  • Calvaria & Vault. The superolateral parts of the skull (2)
  • Base. The floor of the skull.
  • Paranasal Sinuses. Air-filled cavities that lighten the skull.
  • Fossae. Concavities in the skull floor that support part of the brain.
  • Orbits. House the eyes.
  • Facial Bones.
  • Cranial Cavity.
  • Frontal & Parietal.

Where is sphenoid?

An unpaired bone located in the cranium (or skull), the sphenoid bone, also known as the “wasp bone,” is located in the middle and toward the front of the skull, just in front of the occipital bone.

What are the 8 bones of the cranium quizlet?

cranium protects the brain and it composed of 8 bones: frontal bone, 2 parietal bones, an occipital bone, 2 temporal bones, a shenoid bone, and an ethmoid bone.

What are the 4 sutures of skull?

The major sutures of the skull include the following:

  • Metopic suture. This extends from the top of the head down the middle of the forehead, toward the nose.
  • Coronal suture. This extends from ear to ear.
  • Sagittal suture.
  • Lambdoid suture.

Where is the base of the cranium?

The cranial base is the most inferior part of the skull. It consists of the floor of the cranial cavity plus the inferior aspect of the viscerocranium, minus the mandible. Together with the cranial vault, which is the part of the skull that protects the brain, it contributes to the neurocranium.

Is the mandible part of the cranium?

The skull is composed of two parts: the cranium and the mandible. In humans, these two parts are the neurocranium and the viscerocranium (facial skeleton) that includes the mandible as its largest bone.

What are the 3 divisions of the skull?

The skull base can be subdivided into 3 regions: the anterior, middle, and posterior cranial fossae.

Where are the sutures of the skull?

Some sutures extend to the forehead, while others extend to the sides and back of the skull. One suture in the middle of the skull extends from the front of the head to the back.

What are the parts of the sphenoid?

There are four main parts to the sphenoid bone including:

  • The body of the sphenoid bone;
  • The lesser wings;
  • The greater wings;
  • The pterygoid processes.

Is the sphenoid part of the skull?

The sphenoid is just one of the twenty-two bones that form the skull and essentially helps to connect the neurocranium to the facial skeleton. It is a single bone in the midline of the cranial cavity situated posterior to the frontal bone but anterior to the occipital.