Who won 2009 Nobel?

The 2009 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to United States President Barack Obama for his “extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples”.

Who received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2009?

In 2009, Thomas Steitz, the Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for “studies of the structure and function of the ribosome,” along with Venkatraman Ramakrishnan of the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology and Ada E.

Why did Carol Greider win the Nobel Prize?

Greider pioneered research on the structure of telomeres, the ends of the chromosomes. She was awarded the 2009 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine, along with Blackburn and Jack W. Szostak, for their discovery that telomeres are protected from progressive shortening by the enzyme telomerase.

Who won the 2017 Physics Nobel Prize for LIGO?

MIT Physicist Rainer Weiss Shares Nobel Prize in Physics. Rainer Weiss ’55, PhD ’62, professor emeritus of physics at MIT, has won the Nobel Prize in physics for 2017. Weiss wins half the prize, sharing the other half of the award with Kip S. Thorne, professor emeritus of theoretical physics at Caltech, and Barry C.

Who is the world’s youngest Nobel Prize?

In October 2014, Malala, along with Indian children’s rights activist Kailash Satyarthi, was named a Nobel Peace Prize winner. At age 17, she became the youngest person to receive this prize.

What did Carol Greider discover?

After Elizabeth Blackburn and Jack Szostak discovered that telomeres have a particular DNA that prevents chromosomes from being broken down, Carol Greider, together with Elizabeth Blackburn, also discovered telomerase in 1984, which produces the telomeres’ DNA.

Do Normal cells have telomerase?

Telomerase is silent in the vast majority of human tissues and is only expressed in a small number of normal cell types such as dividing male germ-line spermatocytes and a subset of proliferating somatic adult progenitor cells [4].

Who got the Nobel Prize 2016?

October 3, 2016 The 2016 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine has been awarded to Yoshinori Ohsumi, 71, a cell biologist at the Tokyo Institute of Technology “for his discoveries of mechanisms for autophagy.”

Who won the Nobel Prize in 2018 for Physics?

Arthur Ashkin had a dream: imagine if beams of light could be put to work and made to move objects. In the cult series that started in the mid-1960s, Star Trek, a tractor beam can be used to retrieve objects, even asteroids in space, without touching them.