What is the purpose of Te Whare Tapa Wha?

The Māori holistic model of health, te whare tapa whā, reminds you to take care of all the different aspects of your life to support your wellbeing.

What are the key features of Te Whare Tapa Wha?

Māori health models – Te Whare Tapa Whā

  • The capacity for physical growth and development.
  • The capacity for faith and wider communication.
  • The capacity to belong, to care and to share where individuals are part of wider social systems.
  • The capacity to communicate, to think and to feel mind and body are inseparable.

Is Te Whare Tapa Wha a framework?

Te Whare Tapa Wha is a framework that enables conversations beyond the social determinants for health widely acknowledged in the some Western societies: physical and mental health.

What are the 4 aspects of hauora?

It comprises taha tinana (physical well-being), taha hinengaro (mental and emotional well-being), taha whanau (social well-being), and taha wairua (spiritual well-being) (Ministry of Education).

What are the four areas of wellbeing?

The Four Dimensions

  • Spiritual Wellness. Spiritual strength is that force that drives us to make sacrifices for others, our nation, and the greater good.
  • Emotional Wellness. Emotional wellness refers to building an awareness of and accepting one’s feelings and moods.
  • Physical Wellness.
  • Social Wellness.

What is wellbeing NZ?

Wellbeing is hard to define – it means different things to different people. The best definition we found in New Zealand came from the Wellbeing Budget 2019, which defined wellbeing as when ‘people are able to lead fulfilling lives with purpose, balance and meaning to them’ (Government of New Zealand, 2019).

What is the difference between Te Wheke and Te Whare Tapa Wha?

This interconnectedness of the different components is explicit in Te Wheke, whereas it is more implicit in the Te Whare Tapa Whā model. The crucial difference between the various models is that ‘Te Wheke’ is an amplification of Māori concepts of being.

What are the 4 dimensions of Te Whare Tapa?

Māori health is underpinned by four dimensions representing the basic beliefs of life – te taha hinengaro (psychological health); te taha wairua (spiritual health); te taha tinana (physical health); and te taha whānau (family health).

What are the 4 basic indicators of wellbeing in NZ?

Measures of wellbeing include life satisfaction, finances, health, housing, human rights, and relationships.

What is the Te Whare Tapa Whā approach?

The Te Whare Tapa Whā approach to health and wellbeing was developed in 1984 by leading Māori health advocate Sir Mason Durie.

What is Taha Wairua?

Taha wairua explores the connections and relationships to the environment, heritage, and people in our lives, both past and present. With spiritual awareness a fundamental part of Māori culture, it is often believed that a lack of spiritual connection can contribute to ill health.

What is Taha Hinengaro?

Taha hinengaro focuses on the heart, mind, conscience, thoughts and feelings, as well as how we communicate and think. Optimal physical health enables us to grow, develop, and feel strong, better equipping us to deal with life’s challenges.

How do we approach health and wellbeing in Aotearoa?

This simple model provides an easy to understand yet fundamental framework of how we need to approach health and wellbeing in Aotearoa, especially amongst our tamariki Māori. A holistic approach is needed to properly understand and treat imbalances in the day-to-day lives of our tamariki in order to help them grow, succeed, and thrive.