What is the penalty for elder financial abuse?

For misdemeanor elder financial abuse, the penalties include up to 364 days in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000. For felony elder financial abuse, the penalties include anywhere from two to four years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000.

What is the punishment for financial elder abuse?

If you are convicted of a misdemeanor, you may be sentenced to up to 364 days in county jail and a maximum fine of $1,000. If you are convicted of felony financial elder abuse, you could be ordered to serve two, three, or four years in state prison and pay a fine of up to $10,000.

What do you do when someone takes advantage of the elderly?

Here are some steps to consider taking:

  • Talk to the older person.
  • Gather more information or evidence as to what is occurring.
  • Contact the older person’s financial institution.
  • Contact your local Adult Protective Services (APS) office.
  • Contact law enforcement.

What happens when APS investigates you?

WHAT DOES APS DO? Receives reports of alleged abuse, neglect, self-neglect or financial exploitation and determines if the client is eligible. Investigates the allegations through interviewing the client, collateral contacts, alleged abuser(s) and through examining evidence such as medical and bank records.

How do you prove elder financial abuse?

How Do I Prove a Financial Elder Abuse Claim in CA?

  1. Taking the property without permission or with intent to not properly return it.
  2. Retaining property owned by the plaintiff and held by the defendant when the plaintiff properly asked for its return.
  3. Using fraud, coercion, or undue influence to get the plaintiff to hand the property over to the defendant.

What does APS look for?

APS workers investigate cases of abuse, neglect or exploitation, working closely with a wide variety of allied professionals such as physicians, nurses, paramedics, firefighters and law enforcement officers.

Can you be sued after statute of limitations?

The statute of limitations bars creditors from suing for unpaid debts after a certain period of time. If you have old, unpaid debts, you might be safe from a lawsuit to collect the debt.

Who can be charged with elder abuse?

Anyone who is aged 65 years or older is considered an elder under California elder abuse law. Under these laws, elder abuse can lead to charges in either civil or criminal court. Criminal law specifically focuses on violations of California’s Penal Code 368 PC.

Can you go to jail for financial abuse?

Criminal charges in cases of financial elder abuse are extremely rare. But financial elder abuse under California criminal statutes does include acts of theft, embezzlement, forgery and financial fraud. A conviction of a misdemeanor charge can result in up to a year in jail and a criminal fine for the wrongdoer.

What age is considered elder abuse?

65 years

How do I know if I have been scammed?

Seven signs you’re being scammed

  • A company is contacting you out of the blue.
  • You’ve been rejected for credit, but you’ve got a good credit history.
  • You’re being rushed.
  • Your bank is asking you for your PIN number personal information.
  • The letter or email you have received is full of dodgy spelling and bad grammar.

What is the statute of limitations for elder abuse?

The statute of limitations for financial elder abuse in California is generally four years from when the plaintiff discovered, or should have discovered, the abuse.

Where do I report financial abuse of the elderly?

If you want to report elder financial abuse, contact your local county APS Office (PDF). Abuse reports may also be made to you local law enforcement agency.

What is the most common type of elder abuse?


What is it called when someone takes advantage of an elderly person?

(7) The term “exploitation” refers to the act or process of taking advantage of an elderly person by another person or caregiver whether for monetary, personal or other benefit, gain or profit.

What happens when someone is accused of elder abuse?

A felony elder abuse conviction gets you up to 4 years in prison, up to a $10,000 fine, restitution, and formal probation. We have over 50 years of combined legal experience and can help California clients fight false elder abuse accusations.

What can an elder law attorney do for you?

Elder law focuses on the rights, responsibilities and legal issues that concern or predominantly affect, elder or senior people. It generally addresses four main areas of concern, long-term health care issues, the management of personal affairs, elder abuse and estate planning and administration.

What can be done about elder abuse?

There are several important things we can do to prevent elder abuse:

  • Listen to older adults and their caregivers to understand their challenges and provide support.
  • Report abuse or suspected abuse to Adult Protective Services.
  • Educate oneself and others about how to recognize and report elder abuse.