What is Dewas famous for?

Dewas is known for the Devi Chamunda temple and the Devi Tulaja Bhavani temple situated on a 300-foot (91 m) hilltop (Tekri). A broad flight of stone steps leads to two shrines to the goddesses, Choti Mata (Chamunda Mata) and Badi Mata (Tulja Bhavani Mata).

Is Dewas a district?

About District Dewas District in Ujjain Revenue Division, is situated on the Malwa plateau in the West-central part of Madhya Pradesh and lies between 20°17´ and 23°20´ North latitude and 75°54´ and 77°08´ East longitude.

Who founded Dewas?

Dewas was a small village during the reign of the Mughal emperor Akbar. It was founded by two Panwar Maratha brothers who entered the Malwa region in 1728. From 1841 the senior and junior branches of the family ruled their own portions independently as part of the British Central India Agency.

How many blocks are there in Dewas district?

Panchayat Union / Blocks (6) :

S.No. Block Name
1 Dewas
2 Sonkatch
3 Tonkhurd
4 Bagli

Is Dewas safe?

Safety- Dewas is a safe place. But don’t venture out in secluded spots in the evenings.

Who is the king of Dewas?

Vikram Singh Puar
Vikram Singh Puar, king of the erstwhile princely state of Dewas, was acquitted of murder on Wednesday after the trial was delayed following an anonymous complaint to the President about alleged irregularities in the trial.

What is the area of Dewas?

19.31 mi²Dewas / Area

What is the population of Dewas?

Dewas Population 2022

Year Population
2025 396,079
2024 387,400
2023 379,005
2022 370,900

How many villages are there in Dewas district?

Tahsil-wise List

Sl No Tahsil Total Villages
1 Bagli 212
2 Dewas 225
3 Hatpiplya 98
4 Kannod 66

Who is SDM of Dewas?

Sub District Head

Designation Email Phone
SDM Dewas sdmdewas2013[at]gmail[dot]com +91-7272-254900
SDM SONKATCH sdosonkatch[at]gmail[dot]com +91-7270-222244
SDM BAGLI sdmbagli[at]gmail[dot]com +91-7271-275646
SDM Khategoan sdmkhategaon[at]gmail[dot]com +91-7274-233044

How big is Dewas?

Who is the MLA of Dewas?

Dewas (Vidhan Sabha constituency)

Reservation None
Member of Legislative Assembly
Current MLA Gayatri Raje Pawar
Party Bharatiya Janata Party