What conference is Eastern Carolina in?

NCAA American Athletic Conference FootballEast Carolina Pirates football / Conference

What teams are being added to the AAC?

A glance at the American Athletic Conference’s six new members:

  • Charlotte 49ers. Location, Charlotte, North Carolina.
  • Florida Atlantic Owls. Location: Boca Raton, Florida.
  • North Texas Mean Green. Location, Denton, Texas.
  • Rice Owls. Location: Houston.
  • UAB Blazers. Location: Birmingham, Alabama.
  • UTSA Roadrunners.

What happened WAC conference?

The WAC underwent a major expansion on July 1, 2021, with four schools joining. The conference reinstated football at that time and now competes in the Football Championship Subdivision.

When did East Carolina join the AAC?

Full Members

Institution Location (Population) Joining
East Carolina University Greenville, North Carolina (86,017) 2014
Tulane University New Orleans, Louisiana (360,740) 2014
University of Tulsa Tulsa, Oklahoma (396,466) 2014

Why is ECU mascot a pirate?

In December of 1985, the Chancellor of ECU decided to drop the nickname PeeDee from the mascot’s name, and to only be called the Pirate. This was a result from ECU’s student body who said that it was unfair because they did not have any say in naming the mascot.

What schools are leaving the AAC?

Houston, Cincinnati and UCF are due to depart the AAC following the 2022-23 athletic year. CBS Sports’ Dennis Dodd reported in September that the Big 12 is considering further expansion once Texas and Oklahoma officially join the SEC and that Memphis and Boise State are among the schools high on the Big 12’s list.

Who will replace teams leaving AAC?

The American Athletic Conference is adding UAB, Texas-San Antonio, Rice, North Texas, Charlotte and Florida Atlantic to the league, replacing three schools that are leaving for the Big 12 Conference and growing to 14 teams.

Who is in the WAC?


  • Abilene Christian Wildcats. Schedule | Statistics | Roster | Photos | Recruiting | News | Boards.
  • California Baptist Lancers.
  • Chicago State Cougars.
  • Dixie State Trailblazers.
  • Grand Canyon Antelopes.
  • Lamar Cardinals.
  • New Mexico State Aggies.
  • Sam Houston Bearkats.

When did CSU leave WAC?

Fresno State was the last WAC school to earn an NCAA team title when it won the College World Series in 2008. Since 1962, several changes have occurred. UTEP and Colorado State became members in September 1967, while Arizona and Arizona State withdrew on June 30, 1978.

Is ECU a d1?

ECU ATHLETICS From the thrill of NCAA Division I competition to intramural contests and club sports in badminton to yoga and everything in between, you’ll fit right in to our active campus.