Is there an extension on license plate tabs in Michigan?

Michigan drivers will have the option to renew their vehicle registration every two years instead one under a new law that will take effect in October 2022.

Is there a grace period for tabs in Michigan?

There is no grace period under Michigan law. If you continue driving with your old plate, the license plate and tab on your vehicle will not match what is on file with the Secretary of State.

How long can you drive on expired tags in Michigan?

Drivers whose documents have expired during the period will have an additional 120 days to renew them without being charged late fees, unless the Secretary of State changes its policy to allow same-day service without an appointment across the state’s branch offices.

How long does it take for tabs to come in the mail in Michigan?

Check with your local recycler for more information. How long will it take before I receive my plate and/or tab? Allow at least 14 days when renewing a license plate online or by mail.

What do I need to renew my tags in Michigan by mail?

Emissions Testing And Renewing Your Michigan Registration

  1. Renewal notice or current certificate of registration.
  2. Driver’s license.
  3. Proof of auto insurance.
  4. Payment for registration fees, if paying by credit card expect to pay an additional 2% in processing fees.

What happens if you get pulled over with expired tags in Michigan?

Currently under the law, a person who drives with expired registration plate tabs is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or by a fine of not more than $100.

How much is it to renew tabs in Michigan?

The average cost for registration tabs currently runs at about $120, Michigan Department of State spokeswoman Gisgie Dávila Gendreau said.

How do I renew my license plate sticker in Michigan?

Renew in 3 easy steps

  1. SCAN OR ENTER. For vehicles: Scan vehicle renewal notice barcode (or type in license plate number and last four digits of VIN) For licenses/IDs: Type in license/ID number.
  2. PAY. Credit or debit card (or cash where available)
  3. PRINT. For vehicles: Registration card and license plate tab.

How do you get a Michigan State license?

The “Water-Winter Wonderland” plate is available for passenger vehicles and can be purchased as a disability plate. When purchasing, a one-time $5 graphic plate fee is assessed in addition to the normal registration fees.

How to renew license tabs in Michigan?

Go to an MI DMV location

  • Show your Michigan driver’s license or official ID
  • Provide your social security number
  • Pass a vision exam
  • Get your photo taken
  • Pay the renewal fee Standard:$18 Enhanced:$38
  • How much are license tabs?

    – Utility bill, – Driver license, or – Other documentation verifying your primary residence street address.

    How do you get a license plate in Michigan?

    – The plate number of the vehicle you wish to renew – The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) – A credit card or branded debit card