Is obstructing an officer a felony in WV?
(b) Any person who intentionally disarms or attempts to disarm any law-enforcement officer, probation officer or parole officer, acting in his or her official capacity, is guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be imprisoned in a state correctional facility not less than one nor more than five years.
Can you go to jail for a misdemeanor in West Virginia?
In West Virginia, as most states, misdemeanors are crimes that carry potential sentences of no more than a year in jail and/or a fine. Felonies, in contrast, may be punished by incarceration in state prison.
What is the penalty for obstructing an officer in WV?
Any person who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than $1,000 or confined in jail not more than six months, or both fined and confined.
Is disorderly conduct a misdemeanor in WV?
What is the Punishment for Disorderly Conduct in West Virginia? Disorderly conduct is a misdemeanor in West Virginia. It is punishable by jail time of either 24 hours or a fine amount of up to $400.
What qualifies as harassment in WV?
To be charged, someone must engage in, or cause a third person to act in, “a course of conduct directed at another person with the intent to cause the other person to fear for his or her personal safety, the safety of others, or suffer substantial emotional distress;” or someone “harasses or repeatedly makes credible …
How long does a misdemeanor stay on your record in West Virginia?
Single misdemeanor– 1 year after conviction, completion of any sentence of incarceration, or completion of period of supervision (whichever is later in time).
How many years is a life sentence in West Virginia?
An inmate sentenced for life may not be paroled until he or she has served 10 years, and an inmate sentenced for life who has been previously twice convicted of a felony may not be paroled until he or she has served 15 years: Provided, That an inmate convicted of first degree murder for an offense committed on or after …
What is considered reckless driving in WV?
West Virginia Code 17C-5-3 defines reckless driving as when “any person who drives any vehicle upon any street or highway, or upon any residential street, or in any parking area, or upon the ways of any institution of higher education, or upon any property within the state park and public recreation system in willful …
What is disorderly conduct in WV?
According to the West Virginia criminal code, you commit disorderly conduct by disturbing the peace. This includes violent, boisterous, profane or indecent language or conduct. It also includes making unreasonably loud noises with the intention of alarming or annoying other people.
What is grand larceny in WV?
Grand larceny, a felony, involves stolen property or services valued at $1,000 or more. A guilty party faces one to ten years in prison. The law gives a judge the discretion to impose a lesser penalty of up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine.