How long can a juvenile be detained in Florida?

21-day
Youth appear before the court within 24 hours of being taken into custody, at which time the juvenile judge determines whether there is a need for continued detention. Generally there is a 21-day limit to secure detention, but those charged with serious offenses can be held up to 30 days.

What is DJJ in Florida?

The Florida Department of Juvenile Justice’s (DJJ) mission is to increase public safety by reducing juvenile delinquency through effective prevention, intervention and treatment services that will turn around the lives of troubled youth.

How many juvenile detention centers are there in Florida?

A: The Department operates 26 juvenile detention centers in 25 counties with a total of 2,057 beds. The detention centers provide custody, supervision, education and mental health/substance abuse services to juveniles statewide.

Can a minor be questioned without a parent present in Florida?

Yes, the police can speak to, question and even detain a minor without contacting their parent or guardian in Florida.

How much does a juvenile detention officer make in Florida?

Juvenile Detention Officer Salary in Florida

Annual Salary Weekly Pay
Top Earners $31,680 $609
75th Percentile $31,258 $601
Average $23,402 $450
25th Percentile $20,697 $398

How much does a juvenile probation officer make in Florida?

How much does a Juvenile Probation Officer make in Florida? The average Juvenile Probation Officer salary in Florida is $45,088 as of March 29, 2022, but the range typically falls between $39,804 and $52,277.

How many correctional facilities are there in the state of Florida?

143 facilities
The Florida Department of Corrections has 143 facilities statewide, including 43 major institutions, 33 work camps, 15 Annexes, 20 work release centers and 6 road prisons/forestry camps.

Does Florida have a minimum age for juvenile court jurisdiction?

In Florida: The youngest age at which a youth can be adjudicated delinquent is not specified by any statute; Juvenile court has jurisdiction over offenses allegedly committed prior to a youth’s 18th birthday; after age 18, the youth is charged in adult court, Fla.

What is the Florida Department of juvenile justice?

The Florida Department of Juvenile Justice provides delinquency prevention services through the Office of Prevention Services. Probation and Community Intervention works with youth from the time they are arrested to the time they transition back into the community.

There are 21 facilities divided into 3 regions throughout the state of Florida. They hold youth that are awaiting court dates or placement in a residential facility. Residential facilities are for youth who are required by a judge to stay in the care of the Department of Juvenile Justice for an extended time.

What is the status of a youth arrest record in Florida?

Youth arrest records are in the custody of the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE). Criminal history records may be sealed (kept confidential) or expunged (destroyed) as governed by Ch. 943, F.S., which is administered by FDLE.