Does extort stack?

I’m inclined to say yes. The way it is worded, you could even end up having multiple Extort stances on a single permanent, each one of them triggering apart from each other.

Do you have to pay for each extort trigger?

You would need to pay or for each trigger. You would get a trigger for each creature with extort for each spell cast. If Pontiff gives a creature extort a second time, that creature would give you two triggers instead of one.

Is extort damaged?

Is Extort Damage? Extort is loss of life, so it doesn’t actually deal damage. Effects that prevent damage don’t work against extort. But cards that prevent a player’s life total from changing do prevent the life loss and gain from extort.

Is extort an activated ability?

Is extort an activated ability? No, it’s a triggered ability. Activated abilities always have the form [cost]:[effect]. Either in the ability’s text, or in the rules for a keyword ability.

Is extort a cost?

You’re right that Extort costs {W/B} for each creature: each instance of Extort is a separate triggered ability. Each one triggers, and then your friend may pay for the first, for the second, and so on. He cannot pay for multiple triggers with just one mana. That said, I wouldn’t call it useless.

How does extort work in MTG?

“Extort” means “Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay . If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain life equal to the total life lost this way.”

Can extort be used in mono black?

You can play extort in mono-color decks. Crypt Ghast is a black card.

Does extort count as color identity?

mana symbol on creatures with the Extort ability. It is considered part of the reminder text, not part of the rules text, so it doesn’t determine color identity. It is worth noting, that only mana symbols define color identity.

Can you extort the spell with extort?

Essentially yes. However Extort ONLY TRIGGERS ON CASTING, so just putting things into play won’t trigger Extort (such as creature tokens or tutoring).

Is exploit an activated ability?

702.110a Exploit is a triggered ability. “Exploit” means “When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.” 702.110b A creature with exploit “exploits a creature” when the controller of the exploit ability sacrifices a creature as that ability resolves.

Does Krrik work with extort?

Yes, you can. When you go to pay a hybrid cost, you choose which of its two halves you’ll pay. If you choose the {B} half of a hybrid symbol, then K’rrik’s ability will let you pay life instead of mana for it. This means that you can extort spells by paying 2 life if you control K’rrik and a permanent with extort.

Can you play extort in mono white?

You can play extort in mono-color decks. Crypt Ghast is a black card. Blind Obedience is a white card. 903.4b Reminder text is ignored when determining a card’s color identity.