What kind of boundaries are maritime boundaries?

A maritime boundary is a conceptual division of the Earth’s water surface areas using physiographic or geopolitical criteria. As such, it usually bounds areas of exclusive national rights over mineral and biological resources, encompassing maritime features, limits and zones.

What are the five maritime zones?

UNCLOS sections the oceans, splitting marine areas into five main zones, each with a different legal status: Internal Waters, Territorial Sea, Contiguous Zone, Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) and the High Seas.

What are the four maritime zones?

The maritime zones recognized under international law include internal waters, the territorial sea, the contiguous zone, the exclusive economic zone(EEZ), the continental shelf, the high seas and the Area.

What are the 3 maritime zones?

Maritime Zones

  • Baseline: It is the low-water line along the coast as officially recognized by the coastal state.
  • Internal Waters:
  • Territorial Sea:
  • Contiguous Zone:
  • Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ):
  • High Seas:

How are maritime borders determined?

Unless borders at sea were defined by a treaty or agreement between coastal states, the boundary between nations was calculated by Marine Regions and defined as the Median Line – or the line connecting points which are located at equal distance from both coastal states.

What are the three types of water boundaries?

What are the three types of water boundaries? Territory waters, contiguous zone and exclusive economic zone; 165 countries accepted it. THE LAW OF THE SEA.

How are sea boundaries determined?

Why are maritime zones important?

In this EEZ area Malaysia exercises sovereign rights for exploring and exploiting, conserving and managing natural resources, whether living or non living, of the sea bed and the subsoil and the superjacent waters.

What is the meaning of maritime zones?

Maritime zones are areas of ocean or sea which are or will be subject to national or international authority. They are delimited as parts of the seabed, water column and sea surface, the subdivision being on the grounds of political jurisdiction relating to the use and ownership of marine resources.

What is meant by maritime zone?

Definition: A belt of sea defined by international treaties and conventions, where coastal State executes jurisdictional rights.

Which is the border zone between land and sea?

The coastline is the boundary line of sea and land.

Which country has the longest maritime boundary?

When they overlap, the two countries must delineate an exact maritime boundary….Countries with the Largest Exclusive Economic Zones.

Rank Country Exclusive Economic Zone Area ( km2)
1 France 11,691,000
2 United States 11,351,000
3 Australia 8,505,348
4 Russia 7,566,673

How many maritime zones are there in Australia?

A schematic view of Australia’s maritime zones, and a series of 28 electronic maps which depict Australia’s Maritime Jurisdiction. These products were produced in consultation with the Attorney-General’s Department and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) to illustrate Australia’s maritime limits.

What are the plant hardiness zones in Australia?

Plant Hardiness Zones for Australia Zone 1 covers the alpine areas of south eastern Australia. Zone 2 the tablelands of south east Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria, and the uplands of central Tasmania. Zone 3 includes much of the southern half of the continent, except for localities on or near the coast.

Why does Geoscience Australia maintain the maritime boundaries data?

Geoscience Australia is committed to the maintenance of the maritime boundaries data to ensure it reflects the changing nature of Australia’s coastline and hence the various maritime zone limits. The data reflects the location of the coastline within the constraints of available source material at the time of production.

Where can I find information about Australia’s maritime jurisdiction?

Geoscience Australia has produced a number of large format printable products to assist in the understanding of Australia’s maritime jurisdiction. A schematic view of Australia’s maritime zones, and a series of 28 electronic maps which depict Australia’s Maritime Jurisdiction.