What is the classification of hazardous area?


Class Definition
I A location in which a flammable gas or vapour is or may be present in sufficient quantity to cause an explosive atmosphere
II A location in which a conductive or combustible dust is or may be present in sufficient quantity to cause a fi re or an explosive hazard

What are the 3 classifications of hazards?

GHS consists of three major hazard groups : Physical hazards. Health hazards. Environmental hazards.

How do you classify ATEX?

ATEX zones are classified according to two parameters: – the types of combustibles that may be encountered (dust or gas) – the frequency or duration during which an explosive atmosphere is likely to occur. Carefully read the Instructions for Use used in this technical advice before consulting the advice itself.

How do you read ATEX code?

The ATEX suffix gets into the detail of how the device is protected from causing an explosion when installed in a hazardous area and what that hazard conditions are. The ATEX suffix always starts with Ex to indicate Explosion Protection and is then followed by 4 more sections whether it is for Gas or Dust applications.

What are the 6 hazard classification categories?

What are the classes within the Physical hazard group?

  • Explosives.
  • Flammable gases.
  • Aerosols.
  • Oxidizing gases.
  • Gases under pressure.
  • Flammable liquids.
  • Flammable solids.
  • Self-reactive substances and mixtures.

What does ei 15 say about hazardous area classification?

Whilst EI 15 provides guidance on applying a risk based approach for specifying hazardous areas, the full methodology is outlined in a separate publication; A risk-based approach to hazardous area classification.

What are the existing codes of practice for hazardous area classification?

Existing codes of practice provide information with respect to good practice for hazardous area classification. The standards detailing selection of appropriate electrical apparatus have been updated to take into consideration ventilation effects.

What is the EI 15 code?

EI Model code of safe practice Part 15: Area classification code for installations handling flammable fluids (commonly known as EI 15) is recognised internationally as being the de-facto guidance for calculating hazardous zone areas in the petroleum industry.

Where can I find hazardous area codes for LPG?

These are currently under revision, and will specify hazardous areas, that in most cases will be smaller than the separation distance. Current codes are listed on the UKLPG website . Model Code of practice in the Petroleum Industry’ Part 15 is recommended.