What is a Senedd term?

The Senedd (pronounced [ˈsɛnɛð] ( listen); transl. parliament/senate), officially known as the Welsh Parliament in English and Senedd Cymru (Welsh pronunciation: [ˈsɛnɛð ˈkəm. ri]) in Welsh, is the devolved, unicameral legislature of Wales.

How long is a Senedd term?

Member of the Senedd
Seat List of constituencies and electoral regions
Term length 5 years
Constituting instrument Government of Wales Act 1998
Inaugural holder 1st National Assembly

What is the Welsh government called?

The Welsh Government (Welsh: Llywodraeth Cymru) is the devolved government of Wales. The government consists of ministers, who attend cabinet meetings, and deputy ministers who do not, and also of a counsel general.

How many shires are there in Wales?

22 different
There are 22 different counties in Wales. Eleven of which are counties, including the cities of Cardiff and Swansea, and the other eleven are county boroughs, including the city of Newport.

How often are elections held for the Senedd?

These elections are held every five years to elect sixty Members of the Senedd (MSs; formerly Assembly Members, ASs).

What is the Senedd in Wales?

About the Senedd The Welsh Parliament is the democratically elected body that represents the interests of Wales and its people. Commonly known as the Senedd, it makes laws for Wales, agrees Welsh taxes and holds the Welsh Government to account. Find out more chevron_right

What is the Senedd now called?

Its guidance states that the institution will be commonly known as the Senedd in both languages. The name change came into effect on 6 May 2020. Members of the renamed body are known as Members of the Senedd (MS), or Aelodau o’r Senedd (AS) in Welsh.

What language does the Senedd speak?

It is a bilingual institution, with both Welsh and English being the official languages of its business. From its creation in May 1999 until May 2020, the Senedd was known as the National Assembly for Wales (Welsh: Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru ).

Who is the Llywydd of the Senedd?

Elin Jones, Plaid Cymru MS, has been Llywydd since 2016, having taken over from Rosemary Butler. The Llywydd also acts as Chair of the Senedd Commission. Both the Llywydd and the Dirprwy Lywydd typically don’t vote in simple-majority votes. The permanent administrative and support staff of the Senedd are employed by the Senedd Commission.