What does PAS mean in Pas-de-Calais?

pass, strait
Etymology. From Pas de Calais (“Dover Strait”), itself from pas (“pass, strait”) + de (“of”) + Calais.

Where is Pas-de-Calais in relation to Normandy?

The most logical place in Europe for the D-Day invasion was France’s Pas de Calais region, 150 miles northeast of Normandy and the closest point to Great Britain across the English Channel.

How wide is the Pas-de-Calais?

Presentation of Calais The municipality of Calais (74,336 inhabitants in 2009; 335 ha) is located on the Pas-de-Calais, the sea bottleneck between the Channel and the North Sea, 31 km in width on 185 km in length.

What department is Calais?

Nord-Pas-de-Calais northernmost départements of Nord and Pas-de-Calais. In 2016 the Nord–Pas-de-Calais région was joined with the région of Picardy to form the new administrative entity of Hauts-de-France.

What food is Nord Pas de Calais known for?

The most renowned specialties are andouillette de Cambrai, Maroilles tart, chicory gratin, carbonade flamande, anguille au vert à la Flamande (eel cooked with herbs), coq à la bière, endive and ham gratin, hochepot, Boulogne-style mackerel.

Is Calais part of France or England?


Calais Calés (Picard)
Country France
Region Hauts-de-France
Department Pas-de-Calais
Arrondissement Calais

How wide is the Pas de Calais?

Can you see France from Britain?

On a clear day, it is possible to see the opposite coastline of England from France and vice versa with the naked eye, with the most famous and obvious sight being the White Cliffs of Dover from the French coastline and shoreline buildings on both coastlines, as well as lights on either coastline at night, as in …

Where is Pas-de-Calais located?

The department of Pas-de-Calais is located in the region of region of Nord-Pas-de-Calais . The department of Pas-de-Calais has the number 62 and is divided into 7 districts , 77 townships and 895 municipalities. Below you will find the localization of Pas-de-Calais on the map of France, and the satellite map of Pas-de-Calais.

What are the 7 districts of Pas-de-Calais?

The 7 districts of the department of Pas-de-Calais are : Arras, Béthune, Boulogne-sur-Mer, Montreuil, Saint-Omer, Calais, Lens. The inhabitants of of Pas-de-Calais were 1 441 568 in 1999 and 1 453 387 in 2006.

What are the biggest cities in the Pas-de-Calais?

Biggest cities of department of Pas-de-Calais, in number of inhabitants, are (2007 census): Calais, Boulogne-sur-Mer, Arras, Lens, Liévin, Hénin-Beaumont, Béthune, Bruay-la-Buissière, Avion, Carvin, Berck, Saint-Omer, Outreau, Harnes, Nœux-les-Mines, Méricourt, Bully-les-Mines, Étaples .