What are Navy campaign medals?

A campaign medal is a military decoration which is awarded to a member of an armed force who serves in a designated military operation or performs duty in a geographical theater.

Who qualifies for GWOT medal?

To receive the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, a military service member must have served on active duty during a designated anti-terrorism operation for a minimum 30 consecutive or 60 non-consecutive days.

Does everyone get GWOT medal?

In reality, everyone gets this medal regardless of their job in the military, or whether they performed any tasks that had anything to do with bringing terrorists to justice, either at their home station or while deployed overseas.

How do I find out what medals I earned in the military?

Individuals can request information on military service medals, decorations and awards online: https://www.archives.gov/personnel-records-center/awards-and-decorations.

What is the difference between GWOT Service and Expeditionary?

The primary difference between the two awards is that the service medal is intended for those who performed support duty within the United States, while the expeditionary medal recognizes those who were deployed to foreign countries.

Who is eligible for the Afghanistan Campaign Medal?

The Afghanistan Campaign Medal is awarded to any member of the United States military who has performed duty within the borders of Afghanistan (or its airspace) for a period of thirty consecutive days or sixty non-consecutive days. The medal is retroactive to October 24, 2001, and is active until a date to be determined.

What is the Afghanistan Campaign Medal (ACM)?

The Afghanistan Campaign Medal (ACM) is a military award of the United States Armed Forces which was created by Executive Order 13363 of President George W. Bush on November 29, 2004, and became available for general distribution in June 2005. The medal was designed by the U.S. Army Institute of Heraldry.

Who is eligible for the ACM medal?

Personnel who have been engaged in combat with an enemy force, or personnel who have been wounded in combat within Afghanistan, may receive the ACM regardless of the number of days spent within the country. The medal is also awarded posthumously to any service member who dies in the line of duty within Afghanistan,…

What are the phases of the Afghanistan Campaign Medal?

The following are the established campaign phases for the Afghanistan Campaign Medal: Phase Name. From. To. Phase 1: Liberation of Afghanistan. September 11, 2001. November 30, 2001. Phase 2: Consolidation I. December 1, 2001.